Professional Development

Question Marks

Professional Development Inquiries

Interested in professional development for your school district, conference, or more?
Contact Melissa Purtee at melissa@teachingforartisticbehavior.org.

2022 TAB Virtual Institute

Two teachers looking at a work of art.
Join TAB (Teaching for Artistic Behavior) this summer for a week-long workshop to develop, enrich and expand your practice. Together, we will learn through the lens of the theme “Healing Through Art”, taking time to process and reflect on our experiences over the past two years and explore how we can use the power of student-directed learning to meet the changing needs of both students and ourselves. Teachers of all experience levels will gain a deeper understanding of both pedagogy and classroom practice, as well as strategies for creating studio communities that empower all learners to make the art that is uniquely theirs.
For questions, please contact MassArt’s Office of Professional and Continuing Education at ce@massart.edu.

HIGHLIGHTS
  • Content for both beginning and experienced practitioners
  • Flexible schedule 
  • Cohort groups for elementary, middle, and high school
  • Choice of additional sessions or workshops every day about topics like building Community in a TAB Studio, Media-Specific Courses and Play and Learning
  • Focus on building relationships, trust, and equity 
  • TAB instructional practices, assessment tools, and strategies
  • Studio center introductions and demonstrations
  • Teachers as makers in the art studio

TAB INSTITUTE SPECIFICS 2022
  • Fully remote program
  • Two sessions (select one)
    • June 20 – 24, 2022
    • July 11 – 15, 2022
  • Late morning start to accommodate all US time zones
  • One graduate credit or non-credit
  • Participants will meet with an age level cohort as well as select from daily course offerings.
  • Tech support available

TAB, Coffee & Tea with Roni and Jessi

Drawing of two birds and a coffee cup

Wednesday, June 1st 

 Please join our mailing list below and follow us on Facebook and Instagram

Join us on Wednesday, June 1st via Google Meets for another TAB, Coffee and Tea session.
Sign up for the mailing list to receive the Google Link.

5pm Pacific
6pm Mountain
7pm Central
8pm Eastern

TAB is a community of educator mentors advancing the creative confidence of all learners through choice and student agency.

Vision

A future led by creative change-makers who improve the lives of all.